Day 1: Hike 1 at the Bowl and Pitcher (Part 2)

Photo 8I turned right and headed down the trail marked “25” and began my hike. The trail follows the river for quite a few miles and then turns and loops its way back, but instead of looping back, I pushed on through the woods until I found a separate trail that continued following the river. The only reason I did this is because I know of the bridge further down that I could cross over. This way I would pretty much do one giant loop with the river being in the center, rather than having to backtrack a few miles.

After crossing the bridge, and getting more weird looks from passing cars, I turned back into the woods, and headed back in the direction I had come from. Except this time, I was on the side of the river that had my parents house.

Photo 9Not too far into these woods you come across a road that has many houses along one side of it. All of these house seem fairly expensive, seeing as most of them are large with gates to the driveways. Anyways, in front of one of these house I saw the coolest thing I have ever laid my eyes upon.

At first it looked like a giant mailbox, but upon getting closer, you see that there is a sign across the top of it that says “LittleFreeLibrary”. Of course it was exactly as it sounds! You just open the door and take a book, and you are on the honor system to bring it back so others might enjoy it. I have never seen something this cool, and now really want to have one when I purchase a home down the road.

After I was done gawking at the smallest library I had ever seen, I continued on through the woods knowing I was getting close to being done with the hike. Which was a good thing too, because my feet are covered in blisters at this point which tells me I definitely need new boots. The ones I was wearing were from when I was much younger, even though I can not imagine my feet have grown all that much…

Photo 10All the same, I returned home and was over joyed to kick off the boots and sit down to get off my feet which at this point in time are killing me. Yet I am incredibly happy that my feet did blister because I have 2 1/2 years to get my feet hardened for the Pacific Crest Trail. 2 1/2 years to make sure they are hardened enough that when they do blister and bleed, that I will be so used to it that it will not slow my progress one bit… That is the goal anyway!Photo 12

One thought on “Day 1: Hike 1 at the Bowl and Pitcher (Part 2)”

Leave a Reply

