What do you think about most on the trail?

If you are anything like I am, then your mind is constantly at work while hiking. It seems as if I lose myself in the walking and nature, and start thinking about my life and choices I have made.

The beauty of nature is so powerful that it literally makes me want to be a better person. I have made mistakes in my passed, was not always the nicest guy, so generally my thoughts travel back to that time and what I would have done differently.

Oddly enough, my mind tends to wander back to my relationship I had in my freshmen year of high school… Which at first bewildered me because that was over seven years ago. After stopping and thinking about it, I now know why. Sadly, I have always felt like she was the girl that got away.

But that would be a lie. In all honesty, she was the girl who was pushed away.

I was young and dumb, as most males are at that age, but I am glad that I have definitely changed from who I was during that time. I am striving each and everyday to make the best of life and to also make sure that I leave a positive lasting impact on others around me everyday.

The trails and hiking help me do this.

If you do not hike and are trying to find a reason to, let me tell you that it is hard to find a more peaceful place to dive into your thoughts.

So now I ask you, what do you find that you think of most on your hikes?

2 thoughts on “What do you think about most on the trail?”

  1. My weekly interactions with others. Was I a good enough listener? How can I be of better service to others? How can I strengthen my community and be a better friend? Sometimes I do not think and I keep my mind silent. Nature will tell you more then your mind. Looking at the patterns and colors, listening to the birds really brings in clarity and warmth to the soul!

    Like

Leave a Reply

